I don't have a "quote" button


PDA






JitsuGuy
April 24, 2003, 03:55 PM
In the forums I can't quote anyone, I just have a reply button. Yet I see others reply with quotes from others comments all the time, and it appears to be a similar format compared to other boards I visit, so it doesn't appear the people who are quoting the others are just typing it out... Any ideas?

Thanks,
Jits

If you enjoyed reading about "I don't have a "quote" button" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Derek Zeanah
April 24, 2003, 04:28 PM
By default the software comes configured with a reply button underneath every post; clicking that reply automatically throws the post you're replying to into quotes.

The problem with this is that lots of people would quote 45 lines in order to add their one line follow-up. It seemed easier to remove the functionality rather than educate all the posters here. :) (note that I actually fell on the other side of the issue).

Anyway, you can quote someone by copying and pasting, and making sure a [quote] is at the beginning and end of the text you're quoting (actually, replace "quote" with "/quote" for the last one).

Or you can copy the text you want to quote, and use the quote button at the top of the reply box. Either way works fine.

Mal H
April 24, 2003, 04:33 PM
Jits - You can quote all you would like. Cut and paste the necessary text and paste it in your post using either the Quote button on the reply page or paste it between the <qoute></quote> tags (substituting [] for <>).

For the whys and wherefors of the missing "Reply with quote" button, enter the words "reply quote button" in the search window and search in this forum.

[Added] Derek and I were composing/posting at the same time. :)

If you enjoyed reading about "I don't have a "quote" button" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!