No "quote" button


PDA






charlie d
January 23, 2003, 10:53 AM
I was going to reply to a post that was on page one of a two page thread when I found that there is no "quote" button.

Just wondering why this was done. I believe there was one on TFL.

If one is instituted I suggest that the quote default to italics instead of bold as it did in TFL. I used to edit mine to italics since I think bold wastes space and "screams at you."

If you enjoyed reading about "No "quote" button" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
No4Mk1
January 23, 2003, 11:00 AM
I was going to reply to a post that was on page one of a two page thread when I found that there is no "quote" button.

Seems to work OK for me....

charlie d
January 23, 2003, 11:41 AM
Then where the ??? is it? ;)
I seem to remember it being to the left of the edit button, but it isn't there.

Thanks

Plan-B
January 23, 2003, 01:00 PM
I seem to remember it being to the left of the edit button, but it isn't there.

That's the way it is when vBulletin is shipped as default. The powers that be here at THR decided to remove that funcionality to save on valuable bandwidth. I wholeheartedly agree with them. It's too difficult to police those that would quote a 50 line news article to stick in a one line reply at the end. It all adds up.

Quoting now needs to be done manually. Highlight and copy the text you want to quote before hitting the Reply button. There is a Quote button above the text entry box which you can use to paste the text you want to quote.

charlie d
January 23, 2003, 03:42 PM
No problemo.
I can understand the decision to remove it.
I've seen the abuses.

Tamara
January 23, 2003, 09:31 PM
There hasn't been one at TFL for years, either. Really! Go see for yourself. :)

Spark
January 23, 2003, 10:41 PM
This came on TFL time and again - it's different strokes for different folks. In 5 years on BladeForums I've yet to run into a problem with people quoting too much - and the quote button is pretty useful, especially since you don't have to copy and paste repeatedly to respond to sections - just trim accordingly.
:scrutiny:

HABU
January 28, 2003, 12:28 AM
I too liked the quote button so people would know who you were quoting. I always trimmed it down to just what I wanted quoted.

If you enjoyed reading about "No "quote" button" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!