M1 Garand Question


PDA






nsf003
December 28, 2002, 11:50 PM
If you convert a Garand to 308, can you switch between 30-06 and 308 by changing the barrels or does it require a complete overhaul?

nsf

If you enjoyed reading about "M1 Garand Question" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
cheygriz
December 29, 2002, 12:21 AM
All that is required is to change the barrel. And BTW, I love my .308 Garand!

nsf003
December 29, 2002, 12:42 AM
How hard is it to change the barrel?

nsf

GD
December 29, 2002, 06:07 PM
There is an insert that you can buy that will convert a 30-06 Garand to a .308. I have heard good and bad about 'em. One of my concerns would be an ejected round carrying the insert out of the rifle! Has anyone ever heard of this happening?

Powderman
December 30, 2002, 01:44 AM
I have heard of that happening at least once, but I can't think of where I heard it.

As for switching barrels, you would need to:

Turn out old barrel,
Install new one,
Time cycling of the action for proper feeding and ejection,
Index the rifle properly with respect to the gas port,
Set headspace properly,
(Possibly) install new gas cylinder.

I am by no means experienced, but to the best of my knowledge, that is what needs to be done. I'm not sure if a spacer would be needed for the clip recess and guides.

Solution? Get yourself two Garands. Leave one in the original caliber. Send the other one off to have a .308 1-10 twist barrel installed. Fulton Armory does it quite well.

Then shoot and enjoy both.

Dan Shapiro
December 30, 2002, 02:14 AM
One of my concerns would be an ejected round carrying the insert out of the rifle!

That is why the Navy gave up on the insert and re-barreled their M1s.

If you enjoyed reading about "M1 Garand Question" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!