Gun Owners and Airplanes

PDA

Guntalk
September 10, 2004, 02:04 PM
Kind of a stretch, but I note that a number of folks posting here comment on aircraft. Some fly helos, some fly fixed wing, and some are in the military.

I'm a private pilot, and I've noticed that a lot of other pilots also are into guns. In thinking of it, I have wondered if the connection is self-reliance, or some such.

Or, maybe that's just junk psychology.

Anyone else noticed that gun folks like airplanes, and aviation types like guns?

If you enjoyed reading about "Gun Owners and Airplanes" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Old Dog
September 10, 2004, 02:25 PM
I've noticed. Having spent many years around Naval aviation, it's always been interesting to see the young aircrew guys (er... and now gals) get turned on to shooting and then gun ownership when first qualifying with the firearms. The self-reliance thing is probably part of it, too ... I tend to believe that people who fly are more in touch with "what's the worst thing that could happen" than people who don't ... And thus have a more realistic view of the world, as well as appreciating well-made mechanical things, tools, firearms, etc.

neoncowboy
September 10, 2004, 04:42 PM
PP-ASEL checking in...

I've noticed this too. I would also point to the similarity between the experience of 'power' or 'control' for lack of a better word. I don't know how to articulate it without making it sound weird.

But guns = power, as does the command of an aircraft.

We also drive better.

I'd love to see fellow High Roaders over at my favorite flying forum, http://www.studentpilot.com

Stickjockey
September 10, 2004, 04:43 PM
Shotguns and Cessnas, and pistols and Pipers; these are a few of my favorite things

Yup. firearms and flying things; you betcha!

Flyboy
September 10, 2004, 04:51 PM
CFII here, and 1911 fan.