AWB mag conversions possible?

PDA

ShaiVong
September 21, 2004, 07:01 PM
I tried searching for this, but I couldnt find an answer so here goes.

Is it possible to convert preban mags to postban capacity? I'm not talking legally here, I know its legal, I'm talking physically possible.

I have like 4 Glock 22 mags that I would rather convert than replace, seeing how a 10 round mag is silly when you can get a 15.

I have a 10 round bushmaster mag that I'm sure cant be, as they superglued the bottom plate on, but I don't know what the deal is with Glock.

If you enjoyed reading about "AWB mag conversions possible?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
TallPine
September 21, 2004, 07:18 PM
take them apart and see if there is some kind of block that can be removed

Deavis
September 21, 2004, 07:50 PM
No offense, I understand what you are trying to do but don't waste your time. Mags are so cheap now that it isn't worth the amount of time and reliability issues you will have. This is like asking if you can turn you normally aspirated 300ZX into a twin turbo charged 300ZX. It is cheaper to buy the bad boy in the first place.

1) Many mags achieved the 10 round capacity by indenting the sides of the mags. You would have to break the weld to remove that indention

2) Many mags had a baseplate difference with a block of some sort (HK, Walther) and they cannot "just" accept the normal baseplate

Once again, not to be harsh, just go buy the real deal and save yourself the hassle.

Amish_Bill
September 21, 2004, 08:42 PM
The prime criteria for an ATF approved post-ban mag was that it be darn-near impossible for the mag to me modified to take more than 10 rounds. That's why so many of the 10 round mags were built so tight that the last round almost couldn't fit in. They wanted to err on the side of not being in the ATF's sights.