How much do you know about guns?

PDA

FNFiveSeven
September 24, 2004, 12:49 PM
So, I'm sitting here, writing my Ph.D. thesis, and I think to myself, I wonder if I know more about guns than chemistry? I mean, seriously, I could probably write just as much on either topic. So what about you guys? How many of you feel like you know as much or more about guns than you do about your job/profession?

If you enjoyed reading about "How much do you know about guns?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Hemicuda
September 24, 2004, 01:09 PM
Beihg that I just made a career change (usedta be a draftsman, now I'm a truck driver),

and being that I build my own custom Mausers (NOT BUBBAIZED!) and I mean FULLY CUSTOM re-barrelled, hand-cut stocks and more type Mausers...

Yep... I know more about firearms than I do about my job... at least about SOME firearms!

Edmond
September 24, 2004, 03:44 PM
Don't really know much about guns. I just know how to make em' go bang and to take care of em'. You ask me about guns I don't own and I couldn't tell you much.

But I'm always open to knowing more and I'm looking into reloading in a couple of months.

Archie
September 24, 2004, 04:38 PM
since 1969. When I joined the Marine Corps, they made me a rifleman.

Been carrying guns ever since, various federal lawman jobs.

However, firearms are my burning passion. The history and developement of the modern firearm; the various designs, internal ballistics, external ballistics, finishes and materials and all sorts of things.

What guns were used in what wars, why machine guns weren't invented until they were, ignition systems.... all sorts of things.

Trivia like Frank Hamer carried a Remington Model 8 in .25-35. Why General Patton didn't like 45 Autos.....

I've done some study. And I still don't know much.

shermacman
September 24, 2004, 05:06 PM
The more I learn about guns the more I realize how little I know...!