FAL vs G3

PDA

White Horseradish
October 6, 2004, 09:03 PM
I would really like to get an EBR in .308. FAL has always had some appeal to me, but the G3 looks interesting as well. I have no direct experience with either, so I'd like some opinions. FALs look to be a bit more expensive these days. So, should I save up for one or the other?

Did I just open a can of worms?;)

If you enjoyed reading about "FAL vs G3" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Bwana John
October 6, 2004, 09:12 PM
Both!

Norton
October 6, 2004, 09:12 PM
FWIW...I've decided on an FAL. I liked the looks, the ergonomics, the balance in comparison to the G3. Both are fine designs and you will just have to see which one "speaks" to you the most. Have fun!:cool:

Ohen Cepel
October 6, 2004, 09:14 PM
The Hk mags are dirt cheap now! So that is one issue in their favor. I don't have a FAL though so I haven't been watching those mag prices.

I've very fond my my Hk 91, but like the FAL also. I think a quality version of either is a good choice.

White Horseradish
October 6, 2004, 09:23 PM
Both!

Don't I wish...

Bwana John
October 6, 2004, 09:32 PM
Both!
Don't I wish...
OK, get the FAL then, forgings and threads beats stampings and welds.

MrMurphy
October 6, 2004, 10:36 PM
Having shot both as well as the CETME (which came before the G3)....

The FAL. Better ergonomics, points better and carries easier for me, and while 30 or 40 countries use/used a G3 or equivalent, 90 countries armed themselves with the FAL and many still use it. More than any except the M16 and AK.

rbernie
October 6, 2004, 11:38 PM
SAIGA! :)

Dave R
October 6, 2004, 11:52 PM
I shopped FAL vs. CETME pretty hard, and chose CETME because I liked the ergonomics better. Different preferences, I guess.

ShootAndHunt
October 7, 2004, 12:47 AM
I handled FAL, G3 and CETME, and I really like the DSA FAL! It is also kind of expensive too.

G3 is not bad.