What is considered a decent group offhand?

PDA

Moparmike
October 31, 2004, 05:55 PM
Ok, I have very little experience with rifles, like around 150rds or so, none of which was really shot for accuracy (I hit some tin cans a couple times).

Anyway, I just got a russian .22lr trainer, and was shooting it at 25yds. I used a pistol case for vertical stability (it didnt help much, so its "semi" offhand). Doing that, I shot a couple 1.5in groups at 25 yds. How terrible is that?

Another thing is that irons seem really difficult to use for me. My eye is strained, the sights go blurry, and I cant see the target well. Maybe its time I went to an eye doctor?:confused:

If you enjoyed reading about "What is considered a decent group offhand?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Mal H
October 31, 2004, 06:34 PM
Uh .... well .... um ....

Are you sure you weren't shooting a handgun? ;)

Really, if the sights are blurred and the target is blurred, it is indeed time to have the eyes checked. It is amazing how important having sharp iron sights is for accuracy, much more important than having a sharp target.

1.5" groups at 25 yards with a rifle with a fairly decent reputation? "How terrible is that?"

Um ... uh ...

Oh wait! You said it was essentially off hand - actually that's not too bad at all. :)

rbernie
October 31, 2004, 06:51 PM
I shot a couple 1.5in groups at 25 yds. How terrible is that? That's as good as I can do. If it sucks, well then - I suck too. :)

Mulliga
October 31, 2004, 07:12 PM
That's about right. I find the trainer .22s have pretty good iron sights, though, so do be sure to get your eyes checked.

pbhome71
October 31, 2004, 07:26 PM
My eye is strained, the sights go blurry, and I cant see the target well.

You are not suppose to see the target and the front sight well at the same time.