Beware of JPettit Antiques on GB!!!


PDA
Fatelvis
November 4, 2004, 07:35 PM
I just got burned on a muzzleloading shotgun from Gunbroker! Beware of the seller "JPettit Antiques". He described the shotgun as fully functional, and original, but was WAY off! I tried returning it, and he refused. I just wanted to save any grief for you Guys looking for an original old smokepole!!

If you enjoyed reading about "Beware of JPettit Antiques on GB!!!" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
4v50 Gary
November 4, 2004, 08:21 PM
Click on the following for his offering of a "genuine" Confederate sharpshooter rifle (http://www.gunbroker.com/auction/ViewItem.asp?Item=25122505) Bwahahahahahahahahahahahahaha! Thanks for the warning. :)

Sorry to hear you got taken by him. :(

4v50 Gary
November 4, 2004, 09:30 PM
He uses the same photo for numerous items. :barf: The man is a charlatan.

RandolH
November 5, 2004, 01:08 AM
Doesn't gunbroker have a way of dealing with fradulent sellers?

roo_ster
November 11, 2004, 04:28 PM
Doesn't gunbroker have a way of dealing with fradulent sellers?

Yep. They ignore the buyers' complaints, remove any and all negative comments by buyers about worthless sellers, and close the buyers' accounts.

gunbroker.com is not run honestly, IMO, and I will not use them.

Any more questions?

wdlsguy
November 15, 2004, 07:49 PM
Doesn't gunbroker have a way of dealing with fradulent sellers?

Did you pay with a postal money order? Did the seller use USPS? If so, you might be able to sic The U.S. Postal Inspection Service on the seller. That would certainly get his attention!

http://www.usps.com/postalinspectors/fraud/welcome.htm

Battlespace
November 16, 2004, 01:41 PM
I have had better results here: http://www.auctionarms.com/

Gunbroker.com seems to be too seller driven and not care about the buyer getting wha the paid for.

If you enjoyed reading about "Beware of JPettit Antiques on GB!!!" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!