Textbook Inaccuracies

PDA

jeffb
November 19, 2004, 08:44 AM
I'm very much a "lurker." Especially on firearm related forums, as I am relatively new to the world of shooting and thus relegated to more of a listen and learn role. I typically don't post unless I have something interesting or constructive to contribute. I think this qualifies. So, my first post...

Ever since I've become aware of the assault weapons ban and the incredible proliferation of misinformation throughout the media, inaccuracies in general, even the most trivial and inconsequential have come to agitate me to no end. Perhaps the most annoying and potentially detrimental to society and our rights as the minority is the misinformation in text books used in our schools to educate our children. I've read a couple of threads on this subject and have considered purchasing some recently published books discussing this; however, I guess you can say that I just "haven't gotten around to it."

Moving on, I understand and accept the fact that bias will always exist. Frankly, for as long as I've been paying attention to bias and misinformation (which really hasn't been all that long), I've been relatively pleased with the content of the textbooks I've been exposed to. Last night, however, I read something in my Freshman American History textbook that struck a nerve. In reference to the Columbine shooting, the book states the following: "Eric Harris and Dylan Klebold used automatic weapons to slaughter twelve fellow students and a teacher in the worst incident of school violence in American history."

A statement like this in the news media would come as no surprise and would likely be met with a sigh and a brief "the world is going to hell" thought. In a textbook, on the other hand, the fallacious nature of this statement has compelled me to share with all of you.