My First .22 Build Hope It works As Well as It Looks.

PDA

cslinger
November 23, 2004, 06:42 PM
Well I took the plunge and decided to build my first 10/22. So armed with my Discover card, C&R License and the Midway catelog I set out.

I started with your basic bottom of the line blued 10/22 for a doner rifle.
http://www.thehighroad.org/attachment.php?attachmentid=18750&stc=1

Of which I kept this.
http://www.thehighroad.org/attachment.php?attachmentid=18751&stc=1

That I turned into this.
http://www.thehighroad.org/attachment.php?attachmentid=18752&stc=1

Well I am very happy with the way it turned out visually but I am nervous about how it will shoot. I have never done this much to a rifle before and don't know if I did everything perfectly. I plan on doing some tweaking at the range.

This was a mighty fun project.

If you enjoyed reading about "My First .22 Build Hope It works As Well as It Looks." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Darkmind
November 23, 2004, 06:43 PM
WOW looks good.

Tom C.
November 24, 2004, 10:26 AM
Whose barrel is it? Looks like a Volquartsen trigger group.
Accuracy depends on the barrel, and the fit of the barrel in the receiver, then fit of the barreled action in the stock. When I did what you did, I was happy to see that the Green Mountain barrel I put in fit a little tighter than the original barrel. That goes a long way. The Rugers are really very forgiving. Try different ammo and see how it does. I just took mine out yesterday and benched it. It really likes Eley Black, and did almost as well with generic Winchester High Speed solids. I think you will be very pleased with the results.
There are a couple of additional things to do: replace the buffer pin with an elastic pin. It will help save the receiver. I also put in an allen head action screw. It is easier to put in and out and torque down.

George S.
November 24, 2004, 11:06 AM