Turkey Shoot Help

PDA

waynesan
December 20, 2004, 12:16 AM
I need some advice about turkey shoot competition. I just went to my second turkey shoot and after a total of 40 shots I have only managed to get one pellet in the center ring and it wasn't even a winner. I am getting between 90 and 110 holes on the paper ( 8 X 10 ) at 30 yards. I am using a Remington 870 in 20 gauge. I used a full choke at the first shoot, and then bought a turkey choke and used it at the second shoot with no appreciable improvement in number of pellets hitting the paper.
Should I be getting more holes than that with a 20 gauge at 30 yards?

We have to use #8 shot.
Out of about 20 shooters I am the only one using a 20 gauge. I think that is my first indication of my problem.

Should I get a 12 gauge? Is there a lot more shot from a 12 than a 20?

I am a newbie to shotguns and in spite of my poor turkey shoot performance I did have fun but would like to be a little more competitive. Any advice would be appreciated.

If you enjoyed reading about "Turkey Shoot Help" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
lycanthrope
December 20, 2004, 12:22 AM
Waynesan,

Have you patterned the gun? Some shotguns do not shoot to the center of the bead. You need to get a big piece of paper or painted steel and mark a small spot. Carefully aim and see where your pattern is centered. Then make your corrections at the shoot.

kudu
December 20, 2004, 06:00 AM
Welcome waynesan,

Is there a lot more shot from a 12 than a 20?

If they require standars shells, then a 20ga will have 7/8oz of shot opposed to 1 1/8oz of shot in a 12ga hull.

Do shoot at a pattern board to find center of impact for your gun as suggested.

Dave McCracken
December 20, 2004, 06:59 AM
First, pattern. Chances are the bulk of the pattern is not going where you're looking.
Second, pattern again. Figure out where the pellets are and adjust.....

Bill B.