Usgi??

PDA

proven
January 4, 2005, 01:20 PM
i'm not experienced with the USGI stuff and had a question. i've been told that USGI parts are very good quality. i recently picked up a USGI recoil spring plug, and about 1/8" behind where the checkered "nipple" protrudes from the muzzle end, there is a smallish dent or ding of some sort in the cylinder wall. doesn't seem like it should be there. when shining a light into it, you can faintly see where it "bulges" on the inside. also, after i installed it, when taking it apart the recoil spring seems to "stick" a little. what do you guys think?? should i scrap this and find another plug?? i bought this and the standard length guide rod together, and am now wondering about the quality, reliability, and authenticity (was told they were "new" USGI) of both. i'm replacing the full length guide rod on my kimber for carry purposes. i kind-of like the idea of replacing most of the small parts with USGI stuff. thoughts and suggestions?? thanks for any help.

If you enjoyed reading about "Usgi??" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Tinkerer
January 4, 2005, 01:52 PM
My Colt MkIV Series 70 Combat Commander had a semi-circular cut in the top of the recoil spring plug that was bent inside. This was to hold the plug onto the recoil spring to keep it from "escaping" when disassembling the gun. Could this be what you're seeing?

dfariswheel
January 4, 2005, 03:29 PM
Tinker's got it right.

On GI spring plugs and on many older Colt commercial guns, there is a "flap" of metal pushed into the plug.

When the plug is installed on the recoil spring, you turn the plug as though screwing it on the spring.

The spring will interlock on the plug, and prevent the plug from shooting off and getting lost, if you loose control of it during disassembly or assembly.

As a cost saving, later commercial guns don't have this.

proven
January 4, 2005, 03:55 PM
thanks guys