where do you get your brass

PDA

neoncowboy
February 8, 2005, 09:35 AM
I am just getting into reloading. I want to reload my own .45acp and plan to load both 230gr FMJ and 185gr JHP rounds.

Where do you get your brass? I'd like to get 1000-2000 pcs to get started and have some options. I can get mixed headstamp, tumbled, fired brass on eBay for cheap. I can get new brass for not-so-cheap or I can get 'once fired', winchester brass for somewhere in between.

I am leaning toward the mixed-bag stuff on ebay just because I can get a lot of it pretty cheap and afford to throw out damaged or ugly pcs.

Of course, after this lot I'll be recycling so hopefully sourcing brass will only be a once a year proposition.

Any problems with buying lots of brass picked up off a range somewhere?

If you enjoyed reading about "where do you get your brass" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
50 Shooter
February 8, 2005, 09:59 AM
Try ebay

There's also Brassman, gibrass, patsreloading, midway, midsouth shooters supply, brownelles....

rick_reno
February 8, 2005, 10:12 AM
I get mine from Black Hills Shooters Supply - http://www.bhshooters.com/

P0832177
February 8, 2005, 10:38 AM
Brassman is a good source.

Zuma
February 8, 2005, 10:41 AM
HQBrass.com is another good source for once fired brass.

Tom

phungus
February 8, 2005, 10:59 AM
I just went to the outdoor range yesterday and sat in the stall with the bucket that had the most fired brass in it. (I was the only one there at the time, and that range has screens which catch brass and dump it down into a bucket for you).

I ended up dumping it in my range bag, which of course is a no-no on the range, but I didn't think they'd miss it.

Got a lot of once-fired .45ACP, even though I don't shoot it. :)

I try and pick up extra brass at the indoor range I go to as well, when I can.

Too bad you don't ever find .44mag/spcl brass anymore though.

C. H. Luke