Colt XSE FTE live Round?

PDA

ObeOne
February 10, 2005, 11:40 AM
Here is the problem. I have a new Colt Combat Commander XSE that has 300 rounds through it. I like the pistol (trigger needs some work, I will be doing that here pretty soon), but the only way I can eject a live round is to have a magazine in the gun. Otherwise, the round gets stuck and I have to play with it. Ammo so far has been Win Factory 230gr FMJ.
When I look at the ejector, it is really long. I compared it to my Kimber Custom, and there is a huge difference. Is this the problem? Do I just need to trim this up to solve the problem?
Thanks for the help.
Obe One

If you enjoyed reading about "Colt XSE FTE live Round?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
ObeOne
February 10, 2005, 05:49 PM
So, am I correct in my Diagnosis, or Should I try something else?
Obe One

1911Tuner
February 10, 2005, 07:50 PM
Howdy Obe,

Hardball has the greatest cartrdge overall length, and is most likely to hang in the port of a pistol with an extended ejector. You can shorten the ejector slightly, but be careful to retain the original angles, or you could wind up with the brass bouncin' off your forehead. Slightly means taking a stroke with a file and trying it. Note also that the cartridge lengths do vary as much as
.010 inch, so even if you make it work with one particular lot or brand, another brand may produce the same thing.

You can also open up the bottom front of the port a little with a Dremel and
the large sanding drum attachment. Be careful and go VERY slow...You'll need to keep the drum moving, doing as much blending and polishing as actual metal removal. If you've never done it, you may be better off taking it to a smith. The job won't take over 10 minutes, and is known as "flaring" the port. It may only require a tiny amount that likely won't even be noticeable