Current German Gun Laws

PDA

Deavis
February 15, 2005, 01:30 PM
Looking into a job in Germany and I was wondering if anyone had some 1st hand experience or linked information on their current gun laws. Most of the stuff I've found online is a few years old or is from the infamous 1938 laws.

Not interested in self-defense, just in the sport shooting parts of the law.

Thanks!

If you enjoyed reading about "Current German Gun Laws" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Sergeant Sabre
February 15, 2005, 02:13 PM
I have some cursory experience from having taken an educational trip there in 1996:

While there, I inquired about firearms laws. Although I do not know the specifics, I know that you must procure a license from the government to even begin thinking about owning a weapon. One must take a government-sactioned safety course before this license will be granted.

To look into it further, I suggest to contact your nearest German Consulate.

P95Carry
February 15, 2005, 02:28 PM
We have a member here, resident in Germany - he shoots IIRC and probably could help - hope he might see this thread.

cslinger
February 15, 2005, 02:31 PM
I believe the member is Trooper and if I am correct he is in German Law Enforcement and is obviously a shooter. He could probably help you out quite a bit.

Chris

Markheck1
February 15, 2005, 02:40 PM
Only advice I have is don't mess with the Polizei(cops) over there, they really do regularly carry Uzi subs, and G-18's. I lived on base over there so I couldn't be trusted with my own firearms, just the ones they issued me...strangely enough. I never asked about firearms, I do know there is deer hunting over there, but I think it was overly regulated IIRC. Just my $.02

P95Carry
February 15, 2005, 02:45 PM
T.Stahl - that's the guy. Lives in Stuttgart.

M67
February 15, 2005, 04:00 PM