TFL v. THR

PDA

TechBrute
March 8, 2003, 11:33 AM
Hi. I'm somewhat new to THR, and not one of the TFL "elite". ;)

I was hoping someone could explain to me why TFL shut down. I didn't give it much thought at first, but as I visit this site more and more, I notice more and more people with TFL references in their signature lines as if it's some sort of status symbol. I've also seen several posts where people reminisce about "the good ol' days of TFL" and how THR will never be like TFL.

So, since there are so many people that think so highly of TFL, why did it shut down?

:confused:

If you enjoyed reading about "TFL v. THR" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
bad_dad_brad
March 8, 2003, 12:52 PM
I had been on TFL for about 2 years when they went dormant. Rich Lucibella, the fellow that started and ran the site wanted to move on. Apparently it took a lot of his time to run it the way he saw fit. Some of the folks that helped him run TFL, decided to start a new site using the same type of software and similar format. You will see a lot of familiar TFL names on THR including the administrators.

http://www.thefiringline.com/forums/announcement.php?s=&forumid=36

Both sites are pretty much the same. THR has a way to go until it has such a broad base of knowledge that TFL had. But that is just a matter of time. Search TFL anytime you want. You will just about find an answer to any question regarding firearms.

I am sure a lot of the folks that were on TFL for years can tell you more than I can about the history of TFL and how THR took over.

Calamity Jane
March 8, 2003, 01:04 PM
I can't vote in this poll 'cause there's no option I'd choose. For me, there is no "versus."

As a gathering place for gunowners, TFL was great. Notice my use of "was", past tense. THR is a promising new chapter. Notice my use of "is", present tense.