Benelli M121 Reliability

PDA

Jeff White
March 8, 2003, 11:40 AM
I've decided to drive out to Prescott Valley and take the Louis Awerbuck shotgun course Denny Hansen is hosting. I've got a lot of experience with rifles, but my shotgun training is limited to what the city requires of patrol officers, which isn't much.

I have a Benelli M121 that I'd like to use in the course. I like it, it's never malfunctioned and it's light. I don't want to drive 1500 miles and have a non-funtioning shotgun though. Will the Benelli stand up to the hard use?

My other options are a Remington 1100 with 20" barrel with rifle sights and Choate pistol grip stock (looks like a FAL stock) or I can take one of the department's 870s (we carry ARs in the squads now so they are just sitting in the vault).

Any recommendations?

Jeff

If you enjoyed reading about "Benelli M121 Reliability" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Soap
March 8, 2003, 01:00 PM
I would say whatever you decide to take, take two of them. Either the Benelli and the 1100 or a pair of 870s should do nicely.

Dave McCracken
March 8, 2003, 04:22 PM
Take the one, or two, that are most likely to be in your hands during incidents with an high Pucker Factor.

This IS training, right? Train with what you'll use....

El Tejon
March 8, 2003, 04:40 PM
Thumbs up for the old 121. However, I use 870s. Stupid gun nut.:D

Beorn
March 8, 2003, 06:20 PM
What will you use yourself?

I've heard nothing from Benelli owners but good things (my Dad owns one and is very happy). Still our family owns more 870s than anything else.

Jeff White
March 8, 2003, 07:42 PM
Dave,
Whatever I take will be come the carry shotgun. That goes without saying. I won't invest the time in training on a weapon I don't intend to use. My question was more on the reliability of the shotgun. I'll be the first to admit that I'm not a shotgunner. I do want to add that to the toolbox though.