What do you say to your lib associates about Assualt Weapons?

PDA

jondwright
February 17, 2005, 09:52 AM
I'm new to shooting, but I can already tell I'm a lifer. I went to the range for the 1st time 2 months ago. Within a month I had a 10/22 rifle, my CCW, and a revolver that both my wife and I can shoot comfortably. Ok enough about me...what about libs?

I'm talking to one yesterday, joking about Illinois, where he is from. He says, I want tougher gun control. Why do people need assault rifles? I didn't have much to say other than..."it starts there. If we let them take away constitutional rights, they won't stop with AW's." And, "Legal gun owners commit crimes at a much lower rate than the general population."

I know where you guys are on the subject, I enjoy the "good thing is wasn't an AW" sarcasm...but give me some one-liners (facts and such) to come back at him with.

TIA

If you enjoyed reading about "What do you say to your lib associates about Assualt Weapons?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
ZeroX
February 17, 2005, 10:01 AM
Assault weapons is just a buzzword for a normal semi-auto rifle that looks black and mean. An AR-15 is no more dangerous than a wood stock Mini 14 (accuracy and reliability aside), it just looks "evil".

TallPine
February 17, 2005, 10:12 AM
I usually just ask them exactly what an "assault weapon" is ?

They usually either don't know, or say "machine guns" :rolleyes:

Then I try to explain about NFA-34 and that "assault weapon" is just a legal fiction that has no meaning in reality.

At that point they usually just wet their pants and start hyperventilating about "well, I don't know what it is but the govt knows what is bad and they should ban it and ..." :barf:

You can't argue with a hoplophobe :rolleyes: