Keltec SU-16 review

PDA

artech
February 25, 2005, 11:26 AM
Howdy! As some of you know, I used to be a Bushmaster armorer and I have extensive experience with the AR15/M16 family of rifles. Some of you also know that I have pronounced preferences for light, handy rifles, which the AR is really getting away from. However, I promised myself no weight-related soapbox rant this post, so I won't go there today. :cuss: I won't!

Yesterday I got to shoot my new SU-16 for the first time. It's an A-model, in the NOL-xx serial number range. I had read of some problems that people had with these new guns, so I brought some tools and stuff with me just in case. They weren't needed. All shooting was done in sub-20 degree weather, so group sizes might be on the large size. Ammo was PMC cheapo FMJ from a case I bought a few years back. Shooting was done offhand since I didn't want to lay in the snow.

First impressions- the rifle comes in a rather cheap cardboard box from the factory which is surprisingly small for a rifle. Inside, the rifle is stored in a folded condition. A sight tool is included and it comes with two factory 10 round magazines stored in the stock. My rifle has the later model front sight adjusting clear plastic hex-nut. The rifle is quite light, one of my friends said it didn't feel like a real gun. I thought that was just dandy! He's never humped a ruck any distance and prefers a Ruger#1-V, which is not particularly mobile, IMHO. :p OK, OK! The magazines are plastic, seem well made, operate smoothly and are retained by little spring detents in the hollow stock. I understand a 30 round AR mag will also fit. The magazine catch is similar to an AR but made of plastic. Operation is smooth but my magazines do not drop free when empty.