dang airports!

PDA

ballistic gelatin
March 11, 2003, 01:20 PM
Is it just me or have the airports gone a little overboard with this whole sharp instrument confiscation thing? I have had to forfeit two swiss army pocket knives in the past year at the same airport. The knives were the small ones that fit on a keychain with one blade, one file, pair of scissors, tweezers and toothpick.

http://us.news2.yimg.com/us.yimg.com/p/ap/20030311/capt.1047394055.airport_security_nyet203.jpg:banghead: :cuss: :fire:

If you enjoyed reading about "dang airports!" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
El Tejon
March 11, 2003, 01:30 PM
bg, but don't you FEEL safer?:(

Spackler
March 11, 2003, 01:35 PM
If you knew that the first one was confiscated, why did you take another with you the next time?

I have some knowledge of the screeners and their processes. The sentiment among those I know seems to be that it's a bit silly taking small swiss army knives and folding scissors from little old ladies. However, they don't make the rules, but just follow them.

Looking at the photo that you attached, I can't imagine why somebody would think they carry a utility knife on the plane. What planet have they been living on for the past year-and-a-half?

Azrael256
March 11, 2003, 01:43 PM
While I do think this "security" bit is a joke, you do kinda have to scratch your head wondering about the guy who tries to bring gardening tools on an airplane.

STW
March 11, 2003, 01:47 PM
The article in our local paper that accompanied that picture said they even confiscated a trailer hitch from somebody. I know I feel naked with all I have to leave home when I fly now.

I'm a bit anxious about the critical thinking skills of the folks in charge when they started taking company required multi-tools from UAL pilots. It seemingly hasn't dawned on somebody that the pilots don't need a knife to gain control of the airplane. :banghead: