New Gun Owner In Pa = Q?

PDA

RUBZERK
April 2, 2005, 05:07 PM
Is it against the law to transport a handgun (unloaded & locked) & ammo from my house to the shooting range without having a CCW Permit ??

I picked up my handgun today & dont plan on shootong till I get my permit.

If you enjoyed reading about "New Gun Owner In Pa = Q?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Steve in PA
April 2, 2005, 05:31 PM
You do not need a permit to take your handgun (or any firearm) to or from the range provided it is unloaded and the cartridges are carried in a seperate container. No requirement to be "locked".

geekWithA.45
April 2, 2005, 06:28 PM
Go ahead, read, learn and shoot while your permit's being cooked. Look up a local NRA course, if you're a complete newbie.

The LTCF allows you to dispense with a lot of BS, but even with the BS, it's pretty easy going.

If you're in the PHL area, I train newbies for free.

RUBZERK
April 2, 2005, 08:31 PM
How do I find a NRA course in my area ???

What does LTCF mean ??

Am I required to take a gun safty course before I go for my CCW ?? If so, where do I go ??

Pappy John
April 2, 2005, 08:58 PM
License to carry firearms...same as CCW permit.

It's not a neccessity to have training in order to get your carry permit, but it's a great idea.

Edited to add: That's what happens when I get sidetracked halfway through typing a message. Furious beat me to the punch. ;)

RUBZERK
April 2, 2005, 09:20 PM
Where can i go to take a training course ???

45Badger
April 2, 2005, 09:29 PM
We're conducting NRA Basic Handgun April 22-23 ( I think) in Delta. Club is 10 minutes from the RT 372 bridge. Probably 30-40 minutes from you, depending where you are in/around Lancaster. PM me for details.

And welcome! :)

Brian Williams
April 2, 2005, 10:37 PM