Shooting and Hunting in China?

PDA

NeverAgain26
April 3, 2005, 05:43 PM
I am in Shanghai, P.R.C. for a week attending to some business. I have been giving some thought to moving out here for a few years to take advantage of the business opportunities out here. I am no stranger to the Far East having lived here for 18 years and traveling here extensively for the last 12 years.

I am looking into the laws on gun ownership here as if I do come out, I want to be able to keep my guns and keep shooting target practice and possibly hunting. I have web-searched this topic and found the official laws on the subject and they appear to be restrictive. Most of the stuff I found was on air-rifles. I have also web-searched Shooting Clubs in the Shanghai area and have found some things to look into.

Some friends I have here have told me about shooting and hunting clubs and I have to believe that while minimal, there is definitely some shooting activity going on here and it only needs to be found. I know there are hunts in China as I read all the hunting rags, but I am not talking about sheep hunts in the mountains that only millionaires can afford.

I was wondering whether anyone has ever had any experience in these matters, or had friends here who might be able to point me in the right direction.

As an aside, as bad as it is in New Jersey, the PRNJ is heaven compared to the P.R.C. as far as guns are concerned.

Saul Levy

If you enjoyed reading about "Shooting and Hunting in China?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
DigMe
April 3, 2005, 06:10 PM
When I lived in northern China I was under the impression that it was a big no-no. I never met or talked to any civilians who had guns or who claimed to have any experience with guns. I'd contact someone at one of those gun clubs you came across.

brad cook

NeverAgain26
April 3, 2005, 07:01 PM