Military surplus powder and bullets?

PDA

Okiecruffler
April 27, 2005, 08:42 PM
Anyone have any experience with this stuff. I see it at the gun shows all the time, about 1/2 of what I pay for my powder and bullets. I've started shooting ridiculous amounts of .308 and .223, and if I could use this stuff it sure would save alot of money, or at least let me shoot more for the same money. Seems like one of the powders was listed as being more or less H322 which I have no experience with, but I'll bet I could work something out. Is there a good online source for this stuff?

If you enjoyed reading about "Military surplus powder and bullets?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Mark whiz
April 28, 2005, 12:23 AM
About the best source for mil-surp components is Jeff Bartlett's (http://www.gibrass.com/) . A lot of good data concerning his powders on that site.

Widener's (http://www.wideners.com/) is also a good place to find mil-surp brass & bullets and a couple choices for powder too.

I bought a bunch of Wideners brass & bullets on sale last year and it has worked well for me so far. :) Never tried any surplus powder yet - but that may change soon too.

g56
April 28, 2005, 01:32 AM
I'm buying AA2230C, this is new military powder packaged by Accurate Arms powder, very economical, very accurate in my loads. I don't trust pull down powders, well...that company thinks it's such and such powder, "they think" isn't good enough for me.

http://powdervalleyinc.com/

AA2230C $65 for 8 lbs

Okiecruffler
April 28, 2005, 01:37 AM
Don't know what I was thinking, I forgot all about that annoying HazMat fee. Kinda takes some of the savings out of it. Maybe I can find someone here local.

Cortland
April 28, 2005, 03:13 AM