S&W - Scandium exclusive ?

PDA

USGuns
May 6, 2005, 04:03 PM
S&W seems to have some real powerhouses on their hands with the Scandium AirLite revolvers. From what I've read, the Scandium alloys have almost the strength of steel but the weight of aluminum.

Does S&W have exclusive access to the Scandium/aluminum alloy or is it something that can be purchased on the open market? Why haven't other makers used a Scandium alloy in their products?

E.g. Not that it needs to be even MORE expensive but the Rorhbaugh R9s with a Scandium alloy frame would be very nice indeed.

If you enjoyed reading about "S&W - Scandium exclusive ?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
ddc
May 6, 2005, 04:16 PM
The "scandium" buzz-word appears in markets other than just handguns. Bicycles is the first that comes to mind.

My understanding, I'm not a materials scientist so get out a grain of salt...,is that products marketed as "scandium" are basically just one of the many variations on aluminum alloys.

Aluminum alloys are made up primarily of aluminum with a "smattering" (highly technical term) of other metals. I imagine most alloys of aluminum are at least 90% aluminum but I'm sure I will be set straight if my numbers are wrong. :)

So anything marketed as being made of "scandium" is basically just an alluminum alloy in which scandium is one of the "trace" elements.

Ok, how close did I get?

GreenFurniture
May 6, 2005, 04:18 PM
Pretty close.

Kalrog
May 6, 2005, 04:29 PM
S&W does use only a trace amount of scandium/titanium in the aluminum portions of their guns, but that trace is really expensive and really does make the alloy much stronger and harder to work with. So don't think you are paying for a 100% Sc/Ti gun because you aren't. You (or at least I) couldn't afford one.

Mal H
May 6, 2005, 06:22 PM