guns in church?

PDA

chopinbloc
May 25, 2005, 01:27 PM
i know this could be ugly, but i love throwing gas on a fire. please don't make this a theological discussion, though.
my ex thought i was out of line for bringing my pistol to church. i wonder if any of you who attend religious services carry while in the building.

If you enjoyed reading about "guns in church?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
thereisnospoon
May 25, 2005, 01:32 PM
I have been carrying for about 7 years and Church is no different than McDonalds (yes I said McDonalds) or the local 5 and dime.

As a matter of fact, there are three or four men that I know personally that I attend church with who are shooters and at least one of them is also always armed-IN THE CHURCH BUILDING or ELSEWHERE.

MechAg94
May 25, 2005, 01:55 PM
Well, it is illegal in Texas for CHL holders, but there are a couple representatives trying to change that.

mete
May 25, 2005, 01:56 PM
There was a posting on this or another forum listing a good number of crimes that have been commited in church. From shooting the Pope to raping nuns to stealing the gold chalice etc criminals don't have any respect for the church.

HankB
May 25, 2005, 02:00 PM
Well, it is illegal in Texas for CHL holders, but there are a couple representatives trying to change that. They changed this a couple of years ago, it's no longer illegal unless proper notice is given. (A PC30.06 sign constitutes notice.)

scottgun
May 25, 2005, 02:01 PM
God helps those who help themselves. Replace 'help' with 'protect'.

If you carry, why should church be any different?

pythonguy
May 25, 2005, 02:02 PM
Although I thinks its a bit paranoid, at least for my neck of the woods, I don't have any problem with legal, discreet carry in a Church, or anywhere else for that matter.

Rebar
May 25, 2005, 02:08 PM
It used to be a law in MA that you had to bring a rifle to church: