Technique(s) for shortening stock?

PDA

montana
June 3, 2005, 01:12 PM
Hi shotgunners! This is my first posting to this group (Mr McCracken was kind enough to answer a private posting earlier). As I mentioned to him then, I'm impressed with the respect and cordiality offered by this group (i.e., no bashing). I'm very new to shotguns and feel I've already benefited by the experience shared here. Thankyou!

My question to you is this: I want to shorten the stock for LOP on a new o/u (without incurring the cost of a gunsmith). I'm fairly comfortable working with wood and have tools. Does anyone have a tried-and-true method they can share? The more the merrier. I'm a firm believer in "no best way" and enjoy synthesizing information. I did try searching past threads and couldn't find any specifics. Obviously I don't want to botch this (oops, it was a nice gun :uhoh: ).

I'm also looking at adding a Gracoil adjustable buttplate and Limbsaver recoil pad. I'm OK with the math but not the right tool or method to chop with...

Any advice appreciated.
Thanks, Andy. :)

If you enjoyed reading about "Technique(s) for shortening stock?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Preacherman
June 3, 2005, 03:02 PM
First of all, welcome to the shotgunning fraternity! Nice to have you on board.

Now, as to cutting the stock. First and foremost, make sure - I repeat, make SURE!!! - that you've been correctly measured for fit. If you get the measurements wrong, and then cut the stock too short, it's time to buy a new one... Get someone who knows what they're doing to measure you, rather than try it yourself from Internet hints. Not all Internet hints are the equivalent of an expert opinion... ;)