Magazine sticking in mag well help

PDA

Rockrivr1
June 24, 2005, 01:19 PM
I'm pretty new to handgun competition so this question may sound pretty dumb, but here it goes. The one thing that I seem to waste the most time on during my run is the reloads. I'm sure I'm not alone here. What holds me up the most is that my mags just don't drop fast enough and I find that I'm having to grab and pull them out faster, which is taking me way to long to load a fresh mag.

My question is, are you allowed to use some type of lubricant in your mag well in IPSC or IDPA? If so, what do some of you guys use to help speed the exit of an empty mag.

If it's not allowed, what do you guys do to the mag or mag well to help it drop faster?

Any help would be appreciated. This seems to be a common problem with me no matter what handgun I'm using. I typically us a Glock 22, Sig 220ST or recently I started using a S&W 1911.

Thanks

If you enjoyed reading about "Magazine sticking in mag well help" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Jim Watson
June 24, 2005, 01:43 PM
You are a lot faster on the reload than I am. I punch the button as the gun goes empty (IDPA) and the magazine is long gone by the time I can draw the reload.

I think somebody makes a dry lube for magazines to speed the reload, and you can use weighted magazine base pads in IPSC (but not IDPA.)

ClarkEMyers
June 24, 2005, 02:00 PM
In a 1911 it is possible to over stroke the magazine release. First of course I'd look for scratches then I would mark the magazines and look for interference. I'd be surprised to find enough rubbing that serious lubrication would help and if I did I'd probably file some high points. Of course slippery polished magazines are a good thing.

sturmruger
June 24, 2005, 02:04 PM