Weapons on Submarines?

PDA

Jmurman
June 24, 2005, 06:21 PM
Do our Sub crews carry weapons on board? I'm not talking about the SSGN's or the Special Service sub's that carry SEAL's but fast attack boats or boomers?

By the way, I really need to talk with someone that has served on either a fast attack or Ohio class sub. I am writing a book and I have some questions regarding them...nothing TS or anything like that.

Feel free to contact me either here or by email.

Thanks!
Jerry

If you enjoyed reading about "Weapons on Submarines?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
30Cal
June 24, 2005, 06:39 PM
I was an officer on an Ohio Class boomer up until 2000. The ship had a small arms locker to provide pierside and topside security and for repell boarder's situations. Pier security was a mossberg pump shotgun w/ 00 buck and the other guy carried a beretta. Certain watchstanders in the missile compartment were armed with nightsticks in port and at sea. We had M14's as well, but they didn't see the sun very often. A fast boat would have M16's instead of the M14. The locker also had a pile of flak vests (one of which was supposed to float but due to it's international orange color, it was wildly unpopular during the weekly commando drills) and MKU2P assault masks.

Everyone who was part of the security force (made up of the off-going watchsection) had to qualify on the 9mm I think annually--it ended up being a good portion of the crew. Maybe every two years. The number of guys qualified on the shotgun and M14 was very low because the squadron didn't like spending money on ammo.

You can PM me if you need more info. There isn't much about how a sub operates that I don't know. I was qualified as everything except Navigator and Captain (which were things department heads and XO's had to work on).

xdoctor
June 24, 2005, 06:40 PM