I'm a newbie to guns, with some questions.

PDA

Akira13
June 26, 2005, 05:48 PM
Hey. I'm new here, and to firearms in general. I've got two questions that I was wondering if someone could answer for me? The first one was, I've browsed through several gun forums before, and often have I seen people chewed out for confusing clips and magazines. I'd like to know what the difference is, so that I could avoid making that mistake. My second question was: I've never actually used a gun before, but I'd like to, and I know from using toy/airsoft/water guns in the past that I'm far more comfortable shooting with my left hand. I know that left handed guns are made, but I've also heard there aren't very many of them, so I was wondering whether or not it was actually possible for a lefty like me to fire normal right handed weapons at all? Thanks for your time.

If you enjoyed reading about "I'm a newbie to guns, with some questions." here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Alex45ACP
June 26, 2005, 05:50 PM
This is a clip:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v646/6655321/clip.jpg

This is a magazine:

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v646/6655321/mag.jpg

Benjamin
June 26, 2005, 05:53 PM
Hi.

I'm left handed. I'm an NRA instructor for Rifle and Pistol.

Short version - you will be able to shoot most firearms w/o any particular problems. Reloading takes an extra half second or so most of the time.

Akira13
June 26, 2005, 05:55 PM
Thanks both of you. Now, I know what sort of gun would use magazines, but what sort would use clips?

Jim Watson
June 26, 2005, 05:56 PM