Colt Trooper 38 Special - What's it worth?

PDA

Slip Shooter
August 9, 2005, 04:10 PM
A local pond shop has this firearm on display for $295. 4 inch barrel , 6 shot, adjustable sights.

Condition is about 85% except for well worn grips and pitting on first ˝ inch of barrel, otherwise bluing is of a dull color. It seems tight and locks up nicely. The innards may well need cleaning out as it seems to stack moderately in double action mode single action seems ok.

I have no experience with colt firearms other than a previously owned Trooper Mk III.

If you enjoyed reading about "Colt Trooper 38 Special - What's it worth?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
22-rimfire
August 9, 2005, 07:14 PM
In the condition you mention, I would have to say it is substantially over priced by about $100 for a Trooper Mark III. The value on the old model Trooper is about the same. As-new ones sell for $450ish. If you want it, I'd offer about $160-175 for it (no more). But, it really is a fine revolver and would make an excellent shooter. Check the timing and lockup.

dfariswheel
August 9, 2005, 07:42 PM
Since the actual Trooper Mark III was never made in .38 Special, I'm assuming you've found an original Colt Trooper Model.

An original; Trooper has the same action as the Colt Python, and in fact is often called a "Poor man's Python".

These are excellent, strong, high-quality guns.

The Trooper, like the Python, WILL have a trigger that "stacks" so this is normal.

Price for an 85% Trooper is around the 225 to $250 range.

You would add about $15 to $20 for Target hammer and original target grips.

Earlier .38 Special Troopers have the firing pin mounted on the hammer. Later guns have the firing pin mounted in the frame.

Here's a link to a site with production serial numbers by year:
http://proofhouse.com/colt/

Standing Wolf
August 9, 2005, 11:21 PM