Hoppes solvent in plastic?

PDA

KriegHund
August 18, 2005, 07:49 PM
Im wondering if Hoppes powder solvent can dissolve a plastic bottle?

Ill soon be needing to replace the aerosol solvent i got with my kit and have a plastic bottle the perfect size, i dont want to use the glass bottles in it.

If you enjoyed reading about "Hoppes solvent in plastic?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
spin180
August 18, 2005, 08:23 PM
It should be fine in a plastic bottle. I've kept Hoppes No.9 in the same plastic bottle for the last few years and haven't had any problems.

;)

KriegHund
August 18, 2005, 08:31 PM
Ill try it out and put the bottle on a metal dish or something for a day or two.

IIRC some guy put some sort of solvent in a big tub with a gun in his basement and it ate through. But it may have been something stronger than hoppes.

DrAmazon
August 18, 2005, 08:36 PM
I'm not a polymer expert, but it would depend on the type of plastic. The problem is that if it is slowly dissolving in the Hoppes, you're then using solvent + dissolved plastic, not what I want in the bores of my target guns.

Hoppes probably packages it in glass for a reason...

mattw
August 18, 2005, 09:02 PM
in my kit i've got a glass bottle of hoppe's inside of a plastic food storage thing without a lid on it. it all closes up in a plastic ammo-can shaped box pretty well with no worries of breaking the glass

Guy B. Meredith
August 18, 2005, 09:03 PM
The last bottle of Hoppe's I purchased came in a plastic bottle.

Cesiumsponge
August 18, 2005, 09:11 PM