Magnums ??

PDA

magnumcarry
September 14, 2005, 01:34 AM
What makes a Magnum a " Combat " magnum. I have a S&W M66 "Combat" magnum and also a S&W 686 "Combat" magnum. What is with the "Combat" part of it? Thanks for your help! :confused:

If you enjoyed reading about "Magnums ??" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
4thHorseman
September 14, 2005, 03:30 AM
The best I can figure is S&W six shooters hung on the side of many cops almost for a century. I remember once reading an article that S&W even advertised their models a "combat revolvers"
Certainly they have earned the distinction of being in many wars in combat. The are dirt reliable. I also remember a test Iseen somewhere in the past years where many guns were tested in the freezing cold snow. They were left buried to freeze in the snow and them brushed off and then tested to be able to fuction.
One of the guns that amazed the person conduction the test was N frame S&W. It fired and function flawlessly. The person conducting the test claimes it was not a scientific test, just a function test for his own reasons.
Many of the Autos failed to fire for one reason or another.
I believe the 686 is called the Combat Master Piece.
On other note I notice you handle, "magnumcarry".
Is becuase you have a Colt Magnum Carry? :)

Moonclip
September 14, 2005, 03:34 AM
It seems the S&W's with the combat moniker are the ones with adj sights. For example the name of the 586 and 686 which have adj sights are distinguished combat magnum while the fixed sight 581 and 681 are known as the distinguished service magnum.

Not magnums but to show this again, the model 10 is the military and police and the model 15, basically a model 10 with adjustable sights, is a combat masterpiece, the 19, a 357mag mod 15 is the combat magnum.

magnumcarry
September 14, 2005, 03:45 AM