steyr pistols

PDA

michiganfan
March 27, 2003, 10:30 PM
whats the scoop on the quality of these pistols. CDNN seems to be selling these in a varity of calibers for a pretty decent price. Was thinking of getting one in 357 sig for my collection any comments

If you enjoyed reading about "steyr pistols" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Coronach
March 28, 2003, 01:30 AM
1. There is a question as to their safety. There is a small, vocal group of people who claim that Steyr pistols are basically just ADs waiting for the right set of circumstances to go off. The rest seem satisfied with the setup. Do a search for "steyr" and "safety" here and on TFL and read up. I'm no expert, I don't own one, but I would not eschew one due to the safety issue. JMO.

2. The sights are...unique. Some love 'em, some hate them.

3. I've handled one (M9), and I found the ergonomics, handling and pointability to be superb. I *really* liked it.

4. Steyr recently went through a change of US distributors that can best be described as a fiasco. This caused a lack of marketing, questions about supply and service/support, etc etce tc. Last I heard, that is all resolved and hopefully the pistols will begin to flow again.

Bottom line? If I can find a S40 or (dream!) S357, I will probaably buy one.

Mike

macd
March 28, 2003, 10:12 AM
Let me chime in here. I bought a Steyr M40 from CDNN a couple months ago. I can report after 500 rounds this is one of the the best and most accurate pistols I've ever shot. I amazed everyone on my last outing by dumping 10 shots in a 1" circle at 35 ft, off hand no rest. I wish I could put those sights on every pistol I own.

It has been utteryly reliable not one single problem yet. I also have a HI-Power .40 and a CZ-75B both of which are less accurate than my Steyr.