Rossi vs NEF single shot .223

PDA

squirrel-shooter
October 1, 2005, 09:31 AM
I am looking at buying a new .223 break action single shot and wanted some opinions on the above two rifle. Both come in either standard or heavy barrel configuration, for this purchase I am looking specifically at the standard barrel rifle with open sights. It will be used with a scope but I still want the open sight option, already have a heavy barrel rifle in another caliber so dont need another.

Anyone owned either of the rifles in this caliber? If so how did it perform?

squirrel-shooter

If you enjoyed reading about "Rossi vs NEF single shot .223" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Byron
October 1, 2005, 09:37 AM
I have owned the NEF.It was easy to carry, balanced and accurate.I have no experience with the Rossi. try a search in this forum.
Welcome to The High Road. Byron

Preacherman
October 1, 2005, 10:21 AM
What's the twist rate of the rifling? This will affect the bullet weight you're able to shoot accurately. Look for 1:9 or tighter if you plan to use heavier bullets (i.e. over 62 grains). I don't know how the Rossi and NEF compare in this respect.

I've owned the NEF in .308 and .223, in heavy-barrel Survivor configuration, and both were wonderfully accurate. I'm sure the Rossi will also be a good, accurate rifle, but I don't know it personally.

GunGoBoom
October 1, 2005, 10:26 AM
It's a good question, and I don't know the answer yet either, as to which is 'better'. But ask here:

http://www.graybeardoutdoors.com/phpbb2/viewforum.php?f=126

and here:

http://www.graybeardoutdoors.com/phpbb2/viewforum.php?f=154

You'll likely get 2 different answers but you'll gain some insight surely.