30-30, 30-06 & .357 carbine: compare/contrast

PDA

Nematocyst
October 10, 2005, 04:02 AM
Howdy all,

I'm new to rifle country on THR, having spent most of my THR time in shotguns, handguns (both semi-auto's & revolvers), and strategies (love those bugout threads). So, please forgive any naivite in my question. (I grew up with rifles - .22, a Marlin 336 .35 deer rifle (so very sorry i sold that during the financial stress called "grad school"), and even an 1865 .58 caliber Springfield caplock, but have been away from them for about a decade, just now looking back in the direction of rifles again...)

Here's the background for my question. I currently own a 9 mm pistol (soon to be supplemented by a 12 ga {been too long since i owned a shottie), but am strongly considering adding a .357 magnum wheel gun. Current top choices: Shotgun: Rem 870P; revolver: Ruger SP 101, but $money for said guns is still weeks away & the verdict for the .357 revolver is still out...as discussed in other threads...)

One factor involved in my choice of the .357 is my recently acquired knowledge (thanks THR) that there are lever guns chambered for .357, but also (if you're lucky) .38 spl, notably a Marlin 1894C (current top contender for me over the Winchester, much like my beloved but lost Rem 336...but that's another thread). The potential of being able to buy one widely available cartridge (.357) that will work in a wheel gun and a lever gun is appealing to me. Simplicity is good, especially in a world increasingly prone to SHTF & TEOTWAWKI situations....

So to my question: even though i've heard of 30-30, 30-06 & .357 all my life, I really don't know how they compare with each other as rifle rnds. How do said rounds compare and contrast with each other?

The .357 handgun will be mostly used for SD/HD. But I'd like to entertain using the Marlin for hunting, especially deer, both white tail & mule (note my location).