Inflation and cost of reloading?

PDA

Shrinkmd
October 15, 2005, 09:57 AM
It seems like loaded pistol ammo is up a good 10% or more since I started shooting, which wasn't that long ago. I am thinking about getting into reloading for the .45, ,38/.357. What have people noticed as far as component price increases, especially powder, bullets, primers? I already have plenty of brass to start with from my once-fired collection...

Second question. Could I comfortably fit the Dillon 550 on the Frankford Arsenal portable reloading bench? People have said that for cranking out good pistol ammo that a single stage can get very tedious once you learn what you're doing, and that apparently the 550 can be run in "single stage" mode till you get used to it.

Thanks.

If you enjoyed reading about "Inflation and cost of reloading?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
armoredman
October 15, 2005, 10:53 AM
Since Sportsmans' Warehouse opened up, costs are down for me personally....:cool:

P0832177
October 15, 2005, 01:10 PM
First off you have to buy in bulk to keep component costs down. Hopefully you are lucky enough to have a good local to you supplier of 8# pound jugs of powder, 5K lots of primers, and 1K lots of bullets. Perhaps you can snag deals at large fun shows out in your area! Your dollars spent will allow more bang for your dollar. It is not about saving money or getting a pay back. It is about expanding your hobby!

I would suggest that you look at getting a few things before actually buying equipment. First off buy and read ABC's of Reloading. Next, see if you have shooting bud who can mentor your introduction into reloading.

Next look long and hard about finding a powder that will serve all your needs, this helps with logistics.