My name is goon and I am a hopeless gun trader

PDA

goon
October 18, 2005, 02:54 PM
I'll admit it. Despite my desire to change, I can't seem to help myself. I am a gun trader.
My collection only ever seems to get up to a few rifles, a shotgun or two, and maybe three or four handguns before one gets sold off to fund something else. I do this for financial reasons, because I don't have enough space for alot of guns, and because I am sort of constantly in search of guns that do what I need done better than the guns I have. Some guns have "character flaws". Not exactly defects, but things that detract from their efficiency that you don't really find out about until you own one.
Is this condition of the constantly changing gun collection a problem?
I know that some of you out there swear by never selling a gun and I can understand that. I also know how hard it is to find guns that work as they should sometimes and because of that I am hesistant to sell a gun that works. Still though, right now I have a really nice GP-100 on layaway. I have a Security Six upstairs. They will both fill the same role, that role being plinker/woods gun/light defensive gun in that order.
Although the Security Six is a great gun and I really do like it, I think the GP-100 will serve this role better than the Security Six does. Since it isn't getting carried concealed, the slightly smaller size and lighter weight of the SS don't really matter. The GP is built heavier and has slightly more barrel, meaning just a little easier to shoot and a little more downrange smack.
This just the latest example. I have done this before and I will probably do it again.
Do I need to seek professional help?

If you enjoyed reading about "My name is goon and I am a hopeless gun trader" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
1 old 0311
October 18, 2005, 03:27 PM
Hi Goon,