1911: Springfield, Para-Ordanance, or Rock Island?

PDA

rlltdjpr
November 7, 2005, 05:55 PM
I'm new to 1911's and want a cheaper mil-spec type pistol, so I'd appreciate feedback.

If you enjoyed reading about "1911: Springfield, Para-Ordanance, or Rock Island?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
cookekdjr
November 7, 2005, 05:57 PM
Springfield. No comparison.
-David

Black Majik
November 7, 2005, 06:21 PM
Ditto.

Springfield easily over the other two.

SpookyPistolero
November 7, 2005, 06:23 PM
I don't think you're likely to find anything that will compete with the springfield in a mil-spec form that's still within it's price bracket. They are good, reliable pieces. Definitely the leader of the pack from what you offered in the poll. You might look at Colt, as well, for a basic 1911.

wally
November 7, 2005, 06:41 PM
I don't think Para has any offerings in your category.

I voted RIA as its less expensive and mine had a trigger out of the box that is essentially as good as my much more expensive Kimbers.

Use the search on my name and RIA, I've a J-point red dot sight on mine and shoot it a lot and am very happy with it. Fantastic gun for the price. Armscor has resolved a few minor issues I've had with their guns efficiently and profesionally. While the grips on the RIA are no great shakes, IMHO they are nowhere near as ugly as the SA "GI" logo grips.

If you are planning to change out things, look at the Armscor Enhanced 45 first as you'll get SA "loaded" features at GI prices. Get the RIA if you want the "GI" look.

--wally.

WarMachine
November 7, 2005, 06:43 PM
I vote Springfield. They offer everything from the barebones (yet quality) GI models for sub 400 prices, all the way up to 2,000+ custom guns.

Not to mention a lifetime warranty, good customer service, and a great (albeit slow at times) custom shop.

ziadel
November 7, 2005, 06:50 PM
Springfield.

f4t9r