Stock refinishing help

PDA

stevelyn
April 3, 2003, 04:32 AM
I've taken on a project to refinish a rifle stock that's been neglected. I've had limited experience in this area and I'm learning more as I go along.
The problem I'm facing now is how to draw years of oil and bore cleaner from the wood without having to remove too much wood in the sanding process to make the color even.
Any help or suggestions will be greatly appreciated.

Steve

If you enjoyed reading about "Stock refinishing help" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Clemson
April 3, 2003, 10:44 AM
What kind of finish is on the stock now? Many commercial finishes will yield to an application or two of paint stripper. Some won't. An oil-soaked stock usually needs multiple applications of Whiting. If you make a paste of Whiting and solvent (trichlorothethylene, methanol, or the like) and coat the stock with it, the solvent will pull the oil out, and the Whiting will soak it up. When it dries you can brush off the dirty Whiting and do it again. It takes a few applications, but it is a much more pleasant and predictable process than baking in an oven, coating with oven cleaner, etc., that some folks will try to convince you to do. You can get Whiting from Brownells. www.brownells.com

stevelyn
April 3, 2003, 12:03 PM
It had a coating of varnish that had cracked and flaked over time. I used Zip-Strip to take off the varnish and got down to bare wood. There are a few very dark areas that were oil or solvent soaked that are almost black.
My intention is to refinish w/ boiled linseed oil. I've done three stock projects now and their owners including my boss have liked the results.

Badger Arms
April 3, 2003, 08:41 PM