Mil-dot vs. Duplex Recticle

PDA

TarpleyG
April 4, 2003, 08:49 AM
I am looking at putting a Leupold VXII 3-9x40mm scope on a Savage 10FP in the near future. The question I have is why does a scope labeled "tactical" with a mil-dot recticle cost more than the exact same scope with a duplex recticle. I have no real knowledge of scopes so there may be a reason. It just seems that it cost more because it is a "tactical" scope which is a load of crap.

GT

If you enjoyed reading about "Mil-dot vs. Duplex Recticle" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
cratz2
April 4, 2003, 10:03 AM
Cause there are lots of people that are willing to pay $100 for the word tactical on the box of their scope.?

swifter
April 4, 2003, 10:39 AM
"Tacticool" has its own price tag...:p
Tom

rock jock
April 4, 2003, 11:34 AM
The "tactical" has to do with the fact that it is geared towards use by LE and/or military snipers due to the mil-dot reticle. There are some distinct advantages to using a mil-dot scope in sniper applications, the primary one being the ability to estimate range without taking your eyes off the scope. Of course, this advantage also applies for a hunter too but not so much for a benchrest shooter. If you prefer, ignore the word "tactical" and focus on the word "mil-dot".

Mute
April 4, 2003, 02:34 PM
If you need the ability to do accurate range estimation without carrying another device, you'll need to have mil-dot or some other reticle that has a range estimating function. Duplex does not offer this.