Most severely-recoiling firearms

PDA

brekneb
December 26, 2005, 12:29 AM
Noob here. Got a question

Okay as far as felt-recoil goes (not the most powerful rounds in existence whether commercial or otherwise but firearms with the most punishing recoil.) What are you personally aware of that is out there?
As far as:
rifle
pistol
shotgun
(or any shoulder/hand fired weapon for that matter)

Again, not the purely most powerful-cartridge-in-the-world kind of thing but what the shooter experiences due to the fact that the recoil reduction systems incorporated into the firearm are ineffective and marginal at best (or WHATEVER cause might be due to the severe recoil.)

For instance; .500 S&W is the most powerful commercial production handgun cartridge period. And due to it's effective recoil dampening system it's reported recoil is lower than that of a typical revolver firing the .454 . . .
So what's out there? I'm a recoil junky and like it when I get the chance to shoot scary/insane recoiling monstrosities so I want to know. :D

Oh yeah and BTW, Iíve seen that t-rex clip. Looks real fake.

If you enjoyed reading about "Most severely-recoiling firearms" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
DF357
December 26, 2005, 12:32 AM
My 1903a3 Remington 30-06 is the worst kicker I have. My Mosins pale compared to it.

Erik Jensen
December 26, 2005, 12:33 AM
my 1904 Steyr-Mannlicher M95 has *got* to be up there. compounded by the fact that it's a straight-pull bolt action, so you're pulling the thing into your freshly tenderized shoulder to chamber another round. itty bitty carbine, full power cartridge.

dakotasin
December 26, 2005, 12:39 AM
the hardest kicking rifles i've ever shot have been savage 110's w/ wood stocks.

don't know if they changed anything when the accutrigger came out or not - the ones i have experience w/ were pre-accutrigger.