.22-250 dies

PDA

NavajoNPaleFace
January 8, 2006, 10:25 AM
I am about to work up some precision accuracy rounds for my new Savage .22-250 and I'm interested in what everyone thinks is the best precision and standard dies on the market (and if anyone really thinks a precision die turns out better products than a standard die).

I'm familiar with RCBS and Lee but I have no knowledge or hands-on experience with Dillon, Redding, Forster, etc.

All thoughts and opinions are appreciated.

If you enjoyed reading about ".22-250 dies" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Ol` Joe
January 8, 2006, 11:09 AM
Unless you`re loading for a benchrest rifle capable of holding .15" groups "consistantly" you`ll do fine with dies from any of the major manufactures. I`ve Redding, Forster, RCBS and Hornady rifle dies and all load very accurate ammo. By very accurate, I`m shooting ~ 0.5"- 0.75" 5 rd groups regularly with after market barreled hunting rifles. My M70 HV .223 with factory tube will average .5"-.6" for 5rd also with little trouble. The ammo likely will do better but I can`t.........:(

NavajoNPaleFace
January 8, 2006, 02:47 PM
Thanks, Joe.

That's pretty what I was thinking is that most major die brands will turn out a precision round.

I've had great success with the Lee and RCBS on larger calibers but I was wondering if .22-250 (a higher velocity round) was more phinicky.

Thanks for your reply.

Lennyjoe
January 8, 2006, 03:48 PM
I use Lee to full size and after the brass is shot out of my rifle I use RCBS for neck sizing only.

trickyasafox
January 8, 2006, 05:18 PM
i've had good luck with my lee 22-250 dies, but win 748 has not treated me well in that caliber.

Versifier
January 8, 2006, 06:23 PM