New Problem With Glock 23

PDA

MadMercS55
January 18, 2006, 09:04 PM
Just wanted some other opinions on this one. I have a nearly-never-used G23. It sits locked away more than anything since I generally prefer 9mm and .45acp sidearms. I bought it, fired 300rnds through it without issue and put it back away. In research I went to a 22lbs recoil spring and steel rod via Wolff Springs. I fired 150rnds with the new setup and the G23 went back in lockup again. It sat for awhile and went out about 2 days ago with 150rnds of Speer Lawman 180grn ammo. Thing jams every 3rnds like clockwork now.
It seems the slide isn't going back far enough when it cycles to catch the next round from the magazine. Normally I'd think the 22lbs spring may be too strong, so I switch back to the factory assembly. It still has the same problem, but now only when I fire one-handed. I've been firing Glock pistols for many years in varying calibers and never had this type of problem until now. I can't figure what I might be missing here. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

If you enjoyed reading about "New Problem With Glock 23" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
WillBrayJr
January 18, 2006, 09:13 PM
Are you limp-wristing. Polymer autos are more prone to it because there isn't much weight up front.

MadMercS55
January 18, 2006, 09:59 PM
Will,

Thats what I thought originally as well. I've tried varying grips on it when firing one handed, from very light to an overkill death grip and it just keeps doing it. I tried the same grips with my 2 G17's, a G30 and the wife's G26 with no problems at all. This G23 just doesn't like me or something.

JohnKSa
January 19, 2006, 12:01 AM
WARNING! BEFORE reading farther, please read the disclaimer at the end of the post.

The heavier recoil spring will cause the jams you describe with ammunition that is too lightly loaded for that weight recoil spring.