How do I take care of my new rifle?

PDA

kosmo
February 8, 2006, 05:17 PM
I have purchased a new CZ-452 training model. This is the first rifle I have owned, so I have a few questions.

1) How do I clean it? I understand, that it is very important not to mess with the exit end of the barell (or whatever the right term is). However, while cleaning my .357 revolver I cannot keep the cleaning rod from toughing the barell. What do I do to prevent this? Put the rifle in a vice or something?

2) Is there a certain "break-in" procedure that I should follow? Should I clean it before firing for the first time?

3) How often should I clean it? How many rounds between cleanings?

Sorry, these may be dumb questions, but I am a newbie.

Thank you.

If you enjoyed reading about "How do I take care of my new rifle?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
ocabj
February 8, 2006, 05:28 PM
This is a .22LR? As far as barrel cleaning on a rimfire, less is more. Most people rarely clean a rimfire bore. If they ever do, they never use brushes.

No breaking in period for a rimfire. Just buy lots of ammo and shoot it.

TheEgg
February 8, 2006, 05:34 PM
I don't know if it is the right thing to do, but I have had good luck for years with just a pull through on .22's. Long time ago, we used home made ones (a knotted string!) to pull a patch through, now you can get Bore Snakes or other brands. I don't use cleaning rods of any kind on my .22s.

This has always worked well for me.

Chawbaccer
February 8, 2006, 06:00 PM
The answer to one of your questions is to use a bore guide, kinda like a funnel for the muzzle that keeps the rod away from the bore. Or you can use a pull thru like a bore snake.

Thefabulousfink
February 8, 2006, 06:25 PM
+1 on boresnake