How many shooters are also photographers ?

PDA

cameraman2
March 1, 2006, 09:23 AM
Hello everyone ! I am new to THR, I've posted maybe 2-3 times but i avidly look at the forums daily. I saw a post from Alduro about shoters and muscians and thought i would start a similar thread. I got my first gun, a .22 rifle, from my father when i was eight. My mother worked for a newspaper in Wash. DC , i was taking photo class in high school, she gave me Nikon F with 3 lenses for my 16th birthday. That was 1968. Fast forward 35+ years later I am still a photographer working in high resolution digital, Nikon D2x, D1x and very much a shooter. I was always interested in how the mechanics of things worked, not so much the end product. I bought a beat up Nikon camera in 1969 and took it apart, its still apart in a box in one of my equipment cases. My first gun i could buy legally was a Series 70 Combat Commander in 9mm, I wanted a Browning HP like the one Serpico used in his book at the time but couldnt find one. Still have the CC and yes i took it apart as soon as i got it home, it however is together and i still shoot it.

If you enjoyed reading about "How many shooters are also photographers ?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
Preacherman
March 1, 2006, 09:26 AM
You obviously don't know Oleg (http://www.olegvolk.net)... :D

cameraman2
March 1, 2006, 09:27 AM
Who is Oleg ?

beaucoup ammo
March 1, 2006, 09:30 AM
But you're not too shabby yourself, Preacherman! I seem to recall a nice set of photos from a day you and the missus spent at the range.

Digital camera is on my list, but there are a few guns I want first! Dang, it's all so expensive!

Take Care

Preacherman
March 1, 2006, 09:31 AM
Cameraman2, Oleg Volk is the boss here at THR. Click on his name in my first post - it's a link to take you to his online photography site.

Beaucoup, you've got the wrong P'man... ain't got no missus! :D

LaVere