Illegal AR-15 to M-16 conversions

PDA

WhiteKnight
March 12, 2006, 04:12 PM
I see replacement M-16 parts for sale online all the time with no restrictions on purchase. Granted I have little knowledge about the AR system but it seems that these parts are pretty much drop-in and can be accomplished in not a whole lot of time.

Why exactly is this? It seems to me that dozens of full-auto (illegal) conversions have got to by happening every minute.

If you enjoyed reading about "Illegal AR-15 to M-16 conversions" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
cane
March 12, 2006, 04:14 PM
M-16 parts are not "drop in" conversions for AR-15s. You must do some milling to the lower reciever.

nvshooter
March 12, 2006, 04:33 PM
An M-16 and an AR-15 share a common outward appearance, but the internals are quite different. The fire control group is one such difference. An M-16 has a third hole in the side of the receiver, right above the safety selector. This is where the autosear is. An AR does not have this hole. The autosear needs to have metal machined out of the lower receiver for it to fit into the space directly below the bolt carrier. An AR does not have this space machined and cannot, therefore, have an M-16 autosear dropped in at that point. The bolt carrier of an M-16 varies from that of an AR. An M-16 bolt will function in an AR; an AR bolt will not function fully automatically in an M-16. The trigger parts are different, as well. Triggers, safeties and disconnectors are similar in appearance, but quite different in actual function.