Idpa ?


PDA






faustulus
April 20, 2003, 03:09 AM
I encountered an interesting question today. My interpretation of the rules regarding IDPA reloads.
As I understand it the IDPA rules no ammo can be left on the ground. So if I shoot my gun until only one is left in the pipe then drop the mag, I am not leaving anything behind and shouldn't have to retain the mag. After all if the idea is to save rounds for later use what good is an empty mag?
However, my shooting companions seemed to think that if I did not shoot to slide lock then I couldn't drop the mag. What has been your experince?

If you enjoyed reading about "Idpa ?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
GeneS
April 20, 2003, 07:17 AM
faustulus,

Your buds are right. There are only 3 legal reloads in IDPA; tactical reload, reload with retention, and slide-lock. I also think as long as you don't leave ammo behind it should be OK, but according to the rules, as written, it is not.

John Forsyth
April 20, 2003, 11:49 AM
That is correct. If you drop the mag and leave it with the slide forward, you just got three seconds added to your score if it's empty or not. The rationale is that you are not supposed to be counting rounds.

I did not make the rules, I just know what they are and follow them.

cadfael
April 20, 2003, 04:45 PM
Actually, my understanding is if you accidentally drop the mag with one left in the pipe, you can avoid the procedural if you rack the slide prior to shooting. This is slower than a slide lock reload, though.

Adam

John Forsyth
April 20, 2003, 08:20 PM
For those who pistol does not lock back after the last round, of which I have one that does it with certain magazines, if you drop the empty mag insert a fresh one and rack the slide to pick up a round, you will not be assessed a precedural. If you rack the slide and a fresh round comes out, you may or may not get one, it's up to the SO. At least I will not give you one. You will also not be assessed a procedural leaving ammo behind due to a clearance from a malfunction.

faustulus
April 21, 2003, 12:02 AM
If that is the case then I take it back the "get shot in the head while I fumble with this stupid mag" reload is not the dumbest rule in IDPA.
Saving a spent mag is dumber.
I read the rules and saw the three types of reloads but later on it goes into the need to retain a partially spent mag. It never says to retain an empty mag, that is where the confusion comes from. Oh well I guess I just need to shoot to slidelock more often. Nothing I like better than running my gun dry.
This game needs to seriously rethink its reloading rules. Just because Bill Wilson hates IPSC doesn't mean you need to throw the baby out with the bath.

cadfael
April 21, 2003, 04:19 AM
John,

As with all things IDPA it comes down to whether something happens accidentally or trying to out-game the stage designer.

If I were SO'ing and I thought it was intentional, as in trying to hit the reload while changing targets and gives an advantage, then I'm giving them a procedural.

Adam

Dr.Who
April 21, 2003, 03:27 PM
This is addressed in the LGB(little green book) at the bottom of page 3 ...

"There are NO provisions for a slide down (speed load) in IDPA shooting. All reloads must be either made from slide-lock OR be of the tactical-load/mag change with retention type. A shooter is deemed "loaded" and may move from a position of cover ONLY when the magazine is fully seated and the slide is closed or revolver cylinder is closed"

Additional Point: The retained mag must be stowed prior to next shot...

FYI...:)

Tacblack
May 2, 2003, 01:13 AM
I would comment on this but I have to shoot with Faustulus and John Forsyth. I shot IDPA with a good group of people so I try to over look the things I find the opposite of tactical:banghead:

Any day out shooting is a good day right!

Archer
May 2, 2003, 02:18 AM
If you shoot IDPA to learn tactics and subsequently find yourself in a gunfight, you may very well prevail, but it's not the best training ground for such a situation.

If you treat IDPA as an opportunity to practice gunhandling under pressure, and apply correct non-game training techniques to solving real world problems, your odds will probably be much better.

Personally shoot IDPA, IPSC, and enjoy the opportunities these games give me to improve my gunhandling skills.

However, I've trained at Gunsite and have learned what to discard with respect to these activities. I feel that forcing one to shoot to slidelock through artificial downloading ranks high among "dumb ideas" but the rules of the game are there for all to see.

faustulus
May 2, 2003, 03:25 AM
you know I don't think any of the rules would bother me if it weren't for some people who insist that this is the 'way they do it in real life'

WESHOOT2
May 2, 2003, 04:43 AM
Do it the way you'd do it in 'real life'.

Maybe you won't 'win' the 'game'..........

Think (while 'playing') "how would I do THIS if it were in defense of my family?"

Or not............:neener:

charleym3
May 11, 2003, 02:04 AM
Got my blood pressure up several times. Strictly following the rules of IDPA could get you killed on the street. Following the rules of real world survival in IDPA will likely get you Procedural penalties. Yes I'm an SO.
IDPA is a game. Games have rules. Follow the rules and have fun.
Years ago, the ref had to touch the ball after a basket was scored before the other team could throw it in bounds. I thought that was the stupidest thing in the game. Now here we are a few years down the road and that rule has gone away. Give it a little time.

If you enjoyed reading about "Idpa ?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!