Correct way to ship a long gun?

PDA

Impala
April 24, 2006, 08:23 PM
I'm new to the whole shipping guns across the country thing and I'm about to send my rem.7400 to ASI for some custom work and a new barrel. I've never had to ship a gun before and I was wondering what the correct way to go about doing this is. Should I stick with any particular company? should the shipping be insured? What protective measures should I take to ship the gun? and where can I get the right kind of shipping container?

If you enjoyed reading about "Correct way to ship a long gun?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
redranger1
April 24, 2006, 08:33 PM
i would go to a gun shop and tell them what you have, then ask and see if they have any old gun boxes they could give you(preferably unmarked boxes would be best). if not then you may have to take some measurements and get somethin from a boxing store. as far as protecting the gun, just make sure that it will not shift around inside of the box and that the ends(escpecially the barrel end) are very well padded so they wont go through the box. and make sure as i said above, that the box doesnt have anything on it suggesting what may be inside other then ofcourse the shipping address. yes you definetly want to insure it! and im sure that ups or fedex would be just fine. if you can take easy parts like stock and such off of it so if they ask whats in it you can say gun parts so you wont get any sort of hassle.

deadin
April 24, 2006, 08:54 PM
Federal law requires that you inform a common carrier (UPS, FedEX) that your shipment contains a firearm. (Not "gunparts"). They also may ask you to open the box to verify that it is not loaded.
It is legal for you to ship a rifle or shotgun to a gunsmith, manufacturer, etc. via US Postal Service. You might look into this as it will be a whole lot safer and cheaper.

Dean

dakotasin
April 24, 2006, 08:59 PM