Blackpowder Handgun -- revolver or pistol?

PDA

Tearlachblair
May 18, 2006, 12:05 AM
So here's my quandary:

In the world of blackpowder handguns, there is one basic choice you gotta make first -- do you want to buy a revolver or a single-shot pistol of the dueling, big-bore variety?

I had my heart set on revolvers till I saw this
http://www.impactguns.com/store/media/lyman_plainpis.jpg

Ah! How am I supposed to resist that? 50 caliber?!?!?!

So I decided to take my question here -- I'm basically a beginner with limited experience in cleaning and disassembling. Which should I get first -- pistol or revolver?

If you enjoyed reading about "Blackpowder Handgun -- revolver or pistol?" here in TheHighRoad.org archive, you'll LOVE our community. Come join TheHighRoad.org today for the full version!
mec
May 18, 2006, 12:17 AM
The pistols are extremely accurate, easier to clean than revolvers and in the case of the lyman, very durable because of coil springs and quality parts. I started out prefering the pistols but found that revolvers have improved in quality and now am hung up on both.
http://www.thehighroad.org/attachment.php?attachmentid=40124&stc=1&d=1147922119
http://www.thehighroad.org/attachment.php?attachmentid=40125&stc=1&d=1147921979
There it is right on the cover
http://www.thehighroad.org/attachment.php?attachmentid=29337&d=1127836661

Smokin_Gun
May 18, 2006, 01:14 AM
The first one I got was one a them, but...it was for my personna as a Mountain Man as that's what I was doin' at the time. Loved the Pistol but shot the Long gun more.
If you like shootin' period or have a love for the Old West and Civil War...I'd tell you like I would anyone else. Get an 1858 New Army Remington .44 for a first BP handgun, you won't be sorry. Then you'll probly want an 1860 Army Colt .44, and or an Colt 1851 Navy .36. The list of wishes can be endless...you can always buy a single shot muzzle stuffer later.